मेरे मन के अंदर एक विरह्नि नारी बसी है …(in my mind dwells a sorrowed woman)


This post is derived from a fellow blogger Axinia’s post on her blog  http://1000petals.wordpress.com/2009/03/26/every-man-carries-within-him-the-eternal-image-of-woman/

It is an essay written by one of her friends and talks of the essence of the feminine form and its absolute role in our existence. Indeed it is a very complete thought and all the more well written. It begins with the able support of a Carl Gustav Jung’s quote: Every man carries within him the eternal image of woman ….… a deposit, as it were, of all the impressions ever made by woman” – Collected Works 17:338and what follows is nothing short of the extraordinary in terms of both the writing prowess and the quality of thought. A great read.

To me it was more relevant because it reminded me of this movie ‘Suraj Ka Satvaan Ghoda’ (Seventh Horse Of The Sun) (again!) where the script utilizes a rather similar thought (which is said to have been penned by Tagore). That scene I’m attaching here –


About the video clip: The reason why I wrote this post is that I find true of myself what the actor (Rajit Kapur) has to say: mere man ke ander ek virahni nari basi hai, aur yehi nari apni katha kaha karti hai” (in my mind dwells a sorrowed woman, and she tells her stories through me)

I have previously had the exactly same thought, many a time, and was pleasantly shocked to see that it wasn’t an original thought. Obviously still, there was this subtle feeling of pride too, considering that Tagore has written it before🙂

PS: Many thanks are due to Axinia: reading that essay, I was reminded (and profoundly convinced) again of the whole idea. Ofcourse, the essay itself was much better than what I had scribbled in my notebook. I had been planning to do a proper write-up on the subject for long, though I doubt whether I could’ve written anything as beautiful..

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “मेरे मन के अंदर एक विरह्नि नारी बसी है …(in my mind dwells a sorrowed woman)”

  1. Shefaly Says:

    I think Tagore means it quite differently from Jung and from Axinia’s friend. In that scene, Rajit Kapoor talks of विरहिणी which is a word for a woman in the sorrow of separation from the beloved. In that respect विरहिणी is a woman experiencing a specific type of sorrow of which Kapoor’s character continues to list a typology further.

  2. vaibhavtiwari Says:

    Indeed, Shefaly.

    I, however, did not mean to say that the thoughts are congruent. In fact I have introduced the thought in my post, mentioning it as a ‘rather similar’ thought.

    I just took note of the fact that in all these cases, the male protagonist is talking of an inner spirit of sorts, which he curiously identifies as feminine. Beyond this, there is no explanation or discussion. But they do clearly associate a gender with this ‘inner spirit’ – it is feminine.

    In Tagore’s case, it was a sorrowed woman, as you rightly said. The others present a more general image of the woman ‘inside’. But my purpose was to bring out that whether sorrowed or not, “Why does this spirit look feminine?” In fact, I am sure there is no eternal image of a man that women carry in their hearts!

    Even if you read that essay, or Jung’s quote, it can be felt that the idea goes much beyond the idea of a man finding his ‘perfect partner’ (as some readers’ comments seem to be suggesting), but something more intrinsic, if you think about it. In Tagore’s case, the thought becomes pensive even! (understandable : ) – he was a poet (read melancholic), after all)

    Vaibhav

Leave a Reply

